Monday, December 6, 2010


  Asamoah Gyan, whose goals helped fire Ghana to the World Cup quarter-finals but then missed a last-gasp penalty to seal a semi-final spot, has been named on a shortlist for the 2010 African Footballer of the Year Award.
The striker, who made a big-money move to Premier League side Sunderland after the World Cup in South Africa, was named on the shortlist alongside Chelsea’s Ivorian duo Didier Drogba and Salomon Kalou and 
Eto’o of Cameroon and Inter Milan.
Malian international midfielder Seydou Keita, who plays for Barcelona, completes the five-man list which will be cut to three finalists on Dec. 11, the Confederation of African Football said in a statement on Saturday. The winner will be named in Cairo on Dec. 20.
Coaches and captains of Africa’s 53 national teams vote for the award.
Drogba narrowly beat Eto’o to the 2009 award but the Inter Milan forward is favourite to win this year’s accolade having won the UEFA Champions League and Serie A title, while also setting a new goal scoring record in captaining Cameroon at the African Nations Cup finals in Angola.
Ghana’s Gyan could command a strong sympathy vote after his dramatic hero and villain role at the World Cup. He was also the catalyst behind Ghana’s unexpected progress to the Nations Cup final in January.
The award ceremony will be held December 20 in Cairo.
      1. Player of the Year:
      a) Didier Drogba
      b) Samuel Eto’o Fils
      c) Asamoah Gyan
      d) Salomon Kalou
      e) Seydou Keita
      The above shortlist will be reduced to 3 players on December 11th.
      2. African-based Player of the Year:
      a) Alain Dioko
      b) Geddo
      c) Ahmed Hassan
      3. Most Promising Talent of the Year:
      a) Kwadwo Asamoah (Udinese and Ghana)
      b) Ryad Boudebouz (Sochaux and Algeria)
      c) Moussa Maazou (Bordeaux and Niger)
      4. Women’s Footballer of the Year:
      a) Stella Mbachu (Nigeria)
      b) Perpetua Nkwocha (Sunnana SK and Nigeria)
      c) Ebere Orji (Nigeria U-20)
      5. Club of the Year:
      a) CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)
      b) FUS Rabat (Morocco)
      c) TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
      6. National team of the Year:
      a) Algeria
      b) Egypt
      c) Ghana
      7. Women’s National team of the Year:
      a) Equatorial Guinea
      b) Nigeria senior team
      c) Nigeria U-20 women
      8. Coach of the Year:
      a) LamineN’Diaye (TP Mazembe)
      b) MilovanRajevac (former Ghana coach)
      c) Hassan Shehata (Egypt)

No comments:

Post a Comment